Does Instagram delete inactive accounts?

Instagram is one of the biggest social media platforms right now! It has about 2 billion active users. It is regarded as a hotspot for influencers, companies, content creators, and internet marketers. Instagram, on the other hand, prefers to keep things going smoothly. As a result, it has taken a number of steps in response to user inactivity or breaches of its terms of service. Do you want to deactivate your account but are afraid Instagram would delete it if you don’t stay active on it? Not to worry! If you’re wondering whether Instagram deletes accounts that are inactive continue reading this article and we will break everything down for you.

Which accounts does Instagram consider inactive?

Inactive accounts are those that have not been used for a specific period of time. For example, have you ever seen those accounts that say “user not found”? They could be dormant. Inactivity does not always indicate a lack of frequent posts and content. In reality, most users just log in to their accounts. They only like posts, comment on them, or share them. Because of that, Instagram does not look at them as inactive. Even the smallest amount of activity (even a single like) will prevent Instagram’s algorithm from labeling the account as inactive. As a result, if you continue to interact with other posts in any manner, your account is effectively protected from being labeled as inactive.

See also  Best Engagement Hashtags for Newly Engaged Couples

How can you keep your Instagram account from being deleted?

You may keep your account from being dormant by following these steps:

Link your Instagram and Facebook profiles. Additionally, anytime you post something on Facebook, activate the Instagram sharing option. Another tactic for combating inactivity is to share your Instagram account URL on other social media platforms for others to follow. This tactic is recommended because an increase in follower count will activate the account. Also, try to log in every now and then. Don’t set your account to private as this decreases the chances of your post getting liked by random people.

When does Instagram delete accounts that are inactive? 

Instagram has never addressed this issue directly. As a result, there is no clear information on how long it takes before an inactive account is removed. It does, however, urge users to log in and use their accounts regularly to prevent having their accounts deleted. You can also learn more about this in Instagram’s inactive username policy. Although Instagram has made no official comments on the subject, several users claim that Instagram deletes accounts that have been inactive for 1 to 2 years.

Can you use an inactive account’s username?

People are frequently not able to select the username that they want since it has already been claimed by another user. When you can’t use your preferred nickname without adding extra characters, it can be really annoying. However, it is not uncommon for those taken usernames to be inactive. Do you have permission to take them? If you discover that another account with your preferred username is inactive, all you have to do is report it to Instagram. After reviewing your report, Instagram’s staff will decide whether or not to deactivate the account so there is a possibility of you getting the account you have always wanted.

See also  Top 20 Instagram black Models You Must Follow

What to do if you want an inactive account’s username?

Instagram may take some time to examine your report. Also, they may determine that the account you reported is not inactive and should not be removed. If you come across a username that is already in use and wish to utilize it, you can do the following:

  1. Locate the account and check its status.
  2. Analyze the account’s number of posts, followers, and people it follows.
  3. Check the profile photo
  4. Explore the captioned images (if the account is unlocked)

If the account lacks a profile picture, posts, followers, and does not follow other users, you will have all you need to create a convincing case when reporting that account.

Conclusion

To summarize, if you log out of Instagram for a month, your account will go inactive and will be removed at the end of that time period. After establishing a new Instagram profile, you cannot transfer your username or use it again. If you deactivate your existing Instagram account, you will not be able to create another with the same username. If they discover that you have made several accounts, they may permanently delete all of your accounts. Consider turning on email notifications before deactivating your account if you don’t want to lose your followers.

You May Also Like…

Instagram Messages Black

How to Fix Instagram Messages Black

Instagram, as you may know, is one of the most popular social media applications on the planet today. While many ...
Read More
Clear Your Instagram Search History

How To Clear Your Instagram Search History?

Social media businesses regard privacy as an annoyance rather than a human right. If users want to maintain privacy, they ...
Read More
Instagram Notes Feature

How To Use Instagram Notes Feature?

Instagram is well-known for regularly expanding its feature set. Instagram notes feature is the most recent addition. If you're wondering ...
Read More
group chat on Instagram

How To Make a Group Chat on Instagram?

Instagram users have access to a broad range of features, and the app receives regular updates that are designed to ...
Read More
Sarah M

Sarah M

admin

Sarah is the founder, owner, editor, and writer at Social Media Notes. She also does SEO, SMM, and is the SEO consultant for various companies. We hope that reading the blog posts on Social Media Notes would bring you more knowledge, and insight. Welcome to Social Media Notes!

Latest Posts

Recent Instagram News

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *