Do you want to delete your Twitter account? You may wish to deactivate your account for a variety of reasons, such as no longer wanting to use the platform, starting a new account, or shutting down a business account. Depending on your reasons for canceling your account, you may wish to complete the process as soon as possible. Twitter, fortunately, allows you to remove your account in a few simple steps. While there is a 30-day deactivation period, your account will be (mostly) inaccessible throughout this time. This tutorial will show you exactly how to deactivate your Twitter account and delete a Twitter account permanently. We also discuss the steps you should take to ensure that all of your information is completely removed, as well as alternatives to account deletion that may be more appropriate for some users.
Things to consider before deleting your Twitter account
Before you delete your account, make sure you’re doing it for the proper reasons and that you’ve taken all necessary measures. We’ll go through them in more depth later, but here are a few brief questions to answer before you deactivate:
- Do you want to change your username? If this is the case, you do not need to delete your account and create a new one. You can modify your Twitter username to one that isn’t already in use. You are not going to lose any followers this way, and you may choose whether to keep some or all of your Tweets.
- If you have another account you can merge two Twitter account into one.
- Do you intend to create a new Twitter account with the same username or email address as your present one? If this is the case, you should do so before deactivating your account.
- Would you like to keep some of the data in your Twitter account? In this instance, before proceeding with the deactivation process, you should obtain your archived data.
- Do you just want to delete a large number of Tweets but don’t want to deal with the inconvenience of removing them one by one? Instead of canceling your account and starting over, you can bulk remove your Tweets with an app like TweetDelete.
How to permanently delete your Twitter account
Fortunately, deleting your account is a straightforward process. You must first deactivate your account before you can remove it. This informs Twitter that you want to delete it. Deactivation removes your account instantly (so no one can see your profile or Tweets on the site), but final deletion takes 30 days following deactivation.
Deleting your account using a web browser
- Access your Twitter account.
- From the main page, choose Settings and privacy by clicking the three-dot menu symbol in the left sidebar.
- Choose the Deactivate your account option.
- After reading the information, click Deactivate.
- You’ll be required to confirm your password before you can click Deactivate again.
Deleting your account using the mobile app
- Use the mobile app to access your Twitter account.
- Select Settings and privacy from the menu by clicking your profile image.
- Tap Account under your username.
- Click the Deactivate your account button.
- After reading the messages, choose Deactivate.
- You’ll be required to enter your password before hitting Deactivate one last time.
What happens to my account once I deactivate it?
Your Twitter profile and all related information will no longer be available on the platform once you’ve verified your account deactivation. However, Twitter may take up to a month to begin the process of removing your account. Complete account deletion might even take an extra week. You can recover your account at any moment during the 30-day period by checking in and completing reactivation. This is great news for everyone who accidentally canceled their account or had a change of heart a few days or weeks later. However, your login and email address will be bound to that account for the next 30 days, and you will be unable to use them on another account.
Will any of my Tweets remain visible?
It should be noted that certain accounts and Tweets may still appear in search engines or internet archives. For a limited period, deleted Tweets or Tweets from deactivated or deleted accounts may appear in search results (until those pages are recrawled). If there are links to removed accounts and Tweets, clicking on them will send you to an error page, but their information may still be viewable on the search engine results page. If you need to get rid of anything quickly, you can ask Google to delete certain Tweets:
- Access your Google account (or create one).
- Copy the Twitter URL to be removed.
- Navigate to Google’s “Remove out-of-date content” page.
- Copy and paste the Twitter URL that you copied before.
- Click the REQUEST REMOVAL button that has a red colour.
If you reconsider your decision about deleting your account, you have 30 days to reactivate it. If you don’t, your Twitter account will be permanently deleted. We hope this article answered your questions about how to delete a Twitter account permanently.
To delete your Twitter account permanently, go to your account settings and select “Deactivate Account”. Follow the prompts to confirm your decision and permanently delete your account.
No, once you delete your Twitter account, it cannot be recovered. All of your tweets, followers, and other account information will be permanently deleted.
When you delete your Twitter account, all of your tweets and other account information will be permanently deleted. This includes retweets, likes, and any other activity on your account.
Twitter states that it may take up to 30 days for your account to be permanently deleted. During this time, your account will be deactivated and will not be visible on Twitter.
Yes, you can delete your Twitter account from the mobile app by going to your account settings, selecting “Account”, and then selecting “Deactivate Your Account”.