Home 9 Facebook 9 How To Turn Facebook Story Archive on or off?

How To Turn Facebook Story Archive on or off?

by | Mar 1, 2023

Facebook’s story archive is a fantastic feature. You can quickly enable or disable it and see it whenever you like. The Facebook story archive is an excellent way to keep your stories, even if they have vanished after 24 hours. The majority of Facebook users are unaware of this feature. They believe they will be unable to view their stories again after 24 hours; however, this is only true if your archive option is off.

As a result, many others will download their own stories. Facebook’s story archive feature is active by default, but you can toggle it off and on as required. Instead of letting your stories disappear forever, Facebook has provided us with an archive. This blog will explain how to access the Facebook story archive and disable the feature if you don’t want to use it.

What Is Facebook Story Archive?

Because you never know when you might need to recover something important, the story archive allows you to revisit your stories. In 2017, Facebook launched the Story feature, which has been a great success. Any content can be shared on stories, and they appear at the top of the Facebook news feed. To access the Stories, simply tap the friends’ circle at the top of the newsfeed. When you share a story on Facebook, it is automatically archived after 24 hours.

See also  Check Out These 5 Awesome Facebook Group Game Ideas!

Only you have access to your story archive. A story will only be archived when it has been live for a whole day. You won’t be able to access the story in the archive if you remove it before then. Another fantastic advantage of this archive feature is that it allows you to turn old stories into highlights! Highlights are permanent stories that remain visible to everyone on your feed. Facebook creates highlights using the story archive feature, allowing you to upload previously posted stories to your feed and make them accessible again!

How Do I Get to Facebook’s Story Archive?

The steps for accessing the story archive differ slightly depending on whether you use Facebook on a mobile device or a computer.

Accessing Story Archive in the Facebook Mobile App

Here’s how to go to the Facebook story archive on mobile:

  1. Open Facebook on your smartphone.
  2. Tap your profile photo in the top left corner to access your profile.
  3. Tap the three-dot symbol to the right of your profile photo.
  4. Choose ‘Archive’ from the list of options.
  5. At the top, select the ‘Story Archive’ option.

Accessing Facebook Story Archive on PC

Here’s how to use your PC to view the Facebook story archive:

  1. Navigate to Facebook using your preferred browser.
  2. In the top left corner, click on your profile image.
  3. Under the “Edit profile” button, click the three-dot button.
  4. Choose ‘Story archive’ from the drop-down menu.

How To Disable Stories Archive?

You can disable the archive feature if you don’t want Facebook to archive your stories for whatever reason. Once you disable the feature, Facebook will no longer store a copy of your stories.

See also  How To Keep Your Facebook Account & Business Page Secure

Disable Facebook Story Archive on Your Mobile Device

Here’s how to disable the archive feature in the mobile app:

  1. Open Facebook on your smartphone.
  2. In the top left corner, tap your profile photo.
  3. Next to the “Edit profile” button, tap the three dots.
  4. Choose ‘Archive.’
  5. Select ‘Story Archive.’
  6. In the top right corner, tap the three dots.
  7. Choose ‘Settings.’
  8. Disable the ‘Save to archive’ option by clicking the toggle.

Disable Facebook Story Archive on PC

Here’s how to disable the archive feature on your PC:

  1. Navigate to Facebook using your preferred browser.
  2. In the top left corner, click your profile photo.
  3. Click the three dots to the right of the “Edit profile” button.
  4. Select ‘Story archive.’
  5. In the upper right corner, click the ‘Settings’ button.
  6. Select the ‘Turn Off Story Archive’ option.
  7. Your stories will not be saved to the archive and will be automatically removed after 24 hours.

Conclusion

Stories are an excellent way to engage your audience and share your content between scheduled posts. The story feature’s temporary nature makes it so appealing to its users. There’s less pressure to be flawless and more possibilities, to be honest, with all kinds of creative, customizable overlays! What could be better than a feature that allows you to revisit your real experiences whenever you want in just a few easy steps?

Commonly Asked Questions

How can I delete a Facebook story from the archive?

To remove a story from the archives, follow the above steps and navigate to the story archive section. Now, navigate to the photo or video you want to remove, then click the three dots in the top right of the screen and select “Delete.”

Can you detect if someone screenshotted your Facebook story?

Unfortunately, Facebook does not currently tell you when someone screenshots your story. While the story expires and disappears after 24 hours, anyone can take a screenshot and keep a copy of it permanently. So be cautious about who you share what with!

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

You May Also Like…

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *