How To View Your Facebook Profile as Someone Else Would View It?

When it comes to sharing anything on Facebook, there is no such thing as being too careful. Accidentally making an event or photo public might expose it to people that were not intended to view it, such as friends and family. There are settings made to prevent this from happening, but it is very difficult to check each individual post to make sure it is set to the “Private” status. Facebook, to its credit, provides an option that enables users to determine which of their uploaded content can be seen by anybody. This post will teach you how to view your Facebook Profile as someone else would view it, allowing you greater control over the information that is visible to the public.

Accessing the Public View of Your Facebook Profile on Your Windows, Mac, or Linux Computer

On a personal computer (PC) or a Macintosh (Mac), it is easy to view your profile as it appears to other users. In order to accomplish this, please follow these instructions:

  1. Launch “Facebook” in your web browser, and then select “Account” from the “upside-down triangle” that appears in the top-right corner of the screen.
  2. Click the “See Your Profile” option at the very top of the page.
  3. To edit your profile, go to the bottom of the page and select the “horizontal ellipsis” (three horizontal dots).
  4. Select “Profile and tagging settings” from the menu.
  5. Scroll all the way down. To see what other people see when they visit your profile page, click the “View as” button that is located next to the “eye icon.”
See also  How To Fix "Instagram Share to Facebook Stopped Working?"

Accessing the Public View of Your Facebook Profile on Your Android, iOS, or iPhone

However, the process of making your Facebook profile viewable to the public using Facebook Mobile is a little bit different than doing so via a web browser. The following is what you are need to do:

  1. Launch the “Facebook app,” and navigate to your “profile page” by tapping on the “profile icon” or the “hamburger icon” in the upper-right corner of the screen (Top of the screen for Android or bottom of the screen for iOS).
  2. Tap the “horizontal ellipsis” to open the menu of options for your profile (three horizontal lines).
  3. Choose the “View As” option.
  4. Your profile loads, showing any content that is intended for public access.

Why Would You Want to View Your Profile as Someone Else?

The way in which we connect with one another has been dramatically influenced by social media. Because of this, posting our ideas and the habits we follow every day has become normal. Taking what we post for granted, on the other hand, can create a number of security risks for you and your family, and this is something that should not be overlooked. People tend to underestimate the amount of data that can be gathered from a single picture. A landmark, a street sign, or even the homes that are close by can give away your position to anyone who is determined enough to look for it; this is in addition to all of the location data that is included in the image file itself. If you publish images to show off to friends, that is good and dandy, but it is a simple enough error to forget to switch back private settings after they become public. If you post images to show off to friends, that is fine. When you see your profile via the perspective of another user, you are able to see which of your posts are visible to the general public. You have the option to quickly determine whether these posts should remain visible to the public on your profile or if they should be turned private afterwards. The tedious process of checking each post individually can be avoided by using the “View As” option, which gives you the ability to view all of your “public” posts at the same time.

See also  How to Fix Facebook Dating Not Showing Up

Take Control of What Others See

You have the ability to control what other people see when they look at your profile. For example, if you believed that there was either an excessive amount of information or an insufficient amount of information accessible for public display. You can, of course, prevent other users from seeing your profile by blocking them, but you can also choose which of your posts are visible to the public and which are hidden from view. You also have the ability to restrict who can view particular posts. You have the ability to prevent some users from viewing specific posts on Facebook, such as Facebook friends. You have the option of making your account private if you use the View As feature and find a lot of stuff that you do not wish to share with the general public. To your good luck, it is not difficult to toggle the visibility of your profile between Public and Private, or vice versa. Tap the symbol with three dots next to the post you want to restrict other users’ access to in order to do so. After that, click the Edit Privacy button. Tap Friends Except… as well as add the friends you don’t want to see your posts.

Commonly asked question

The following are answers to additional questions that you may have regarding the View As feature of Facebook.

  • Where can I find the Exit button for the View As feature?

After you have finished checking out what other people on Facebook can see, you will quickly be able to go back to Facebook’s standard view. Simply navigate your mouse or touchpad to the top right corner of the screen and select Exit View.

  • I’d like to view my Facebook profile as someone else; is it possible?
See also  The Ultimate Guide to Meta Ads Automation

Sadly, the answer is no. Facebook used to provide users the ability to select how they wanted their profile to appear to others. You have the option of selecting Public or logging in as a specific person. However, the feature was removed by the company at some point around the year 2019. Logging into the Facebook account of the other person and conducting a search on your profile is the only way to get a glimpse of what the other person sees (apart from the Public view).

Conclusion

In today’s environment, the use of social media has become so widespread that it is almost just assumed to be there. Everyone discusses anything, from major events to the food they had for breakfast in the morning. It is also important to keep an eye on what you share as well since you do not want to accidentally reveal details to strange people who are not allowed to see it. We hope this post helped you learn how to view your Facebook profile as someone else would view it.

You May Also Like…

Go Live on Facebook

Why Can’t I Go Live on Facebook?

Facebook Live is becoming increasingly popular. It has been available since 2016. According to Fidji Simo, the Head of the ...
Read More
ISO on Facebook

What ISO on Facebook means?

As a platform for social media, Facebook is steadily gaining ground on its competitors throughout the course of time. People ...
Read More
Schedule Facebook Reels

What Is the Best Way to Schedule Facebook Reels?

With a new feature integrated into Meta Creator Studio, Meta is introducing a new way to schedule Facebook Reels. Creator ...
Read More
Facebook Spark AR

What Is Facebook Spark AR And How Do I Use It?

Augmented Reality has grown as a technology in recent years thanks to continual breakthroughs and developments in its core mechanism ...
Read More
Sarah M

Sarah M

admin

Sarah is the founder, owner, editor, and writer at Social Media Notes. She also does SEO, SMM, and is the SEO consultant for various companies. We hope that reading the blog posts on Social Media Notes would bring you more knowledge, and insight. Welcome to Social Media Notes!

Latest Posts

Recent Facebook News

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER

Stay in the know! Subscribe to our email list today and get the latest news and updates.